UGA’s Thompson a finalist for Haskins Award

Davis Thompson (Photo by John Weast)Pebble Beach, Calif. Aug. 31-Sept. 2, 2019

Davis Thompson
(Photo by John Weast)Pebble Beach, Calif.
Aug. 31-Sept. 2, 2019

University of Georgia golfer Davis Thompson has been selected as a finalist for the 2020 Haskins Award.

The Haskins Award, often called the Heisman Trophy of college golf, has been presented annually since 1971 to the nation’s top player. Georgia’s Russell Henley won the Haskins Award in 2010 and his trophy is housed inside the Boyd Center at the UGA Golf Course.

Voting will close on April 21 and the winner will be announced in May and will earn an exemption into the PGA Tour’s A Military Tribute at the Greenbrier in September.

Thompson, a junior from Auburn, Ala., is No. 5 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking. He ended the year with a scoring average of 69.95, including nine rounds in the 60s. Thompson won the Jim Rivers Invitational last fall and had four additional top-10 finishes this season.

He played on sponsor exemptions in the 2019 RSM Classic and the 2020 Puerto Rico Open on the PGA Tour. By virtue of winning the Jones Cup Invitational, he earned another berth in the 2020 RSM Classic. Thompson has been chosen to compete for the United States in the Arnold Palmer Cup in Ireland July 3-5.

Joining Thompson on the final Haskins Award Watch List are: John Augenstein, Vanderbilt; John Axelsen, Florida; Ricky Castillo, Florida; Cooper Dossey, Baylor; Peter Kuest, BYU; William Mouw, Pepperdine; John Pak, Florida State; Garett Reband, Oklahoma; and Sahith Theegala, Pepperdine.

About the Author

Hello and Welcome to The Georgia Golfer I'm Stan Awtrey, the writer and administrator for this site. I love to watch and play, although my 19 handicap index would indicate that I'm better at watching. I've played more than 200 different courses over the years, including Augusta National (twice).